Santiago! Si, si puede!

So, the answer to the question in the title of this blog is: Si, si puede. Yes we can!
We didn’t make it to Santiago the way we planned, but we kept on truckin’ (okay taxiing) and didn’t give up. Brian has been a trooper, carrying on while not feeling his usual top top self.

20140625_085455e

Two great things about the day. First, Brian felt up to walking the first two miles of this section to Santiago. It Was a Beautiful Mostly Level Walk on a dirt track through a eucalyptus forest then farmland. It was so wonderful to be walking again!! I took a ton of pictures which I’ll put in a separate blog.

And the second was going to the pilgrim mass at the Cathedral. I’ll deal with them in a separate blogs, but just wanted to let you all know that we made it to Santiago!
20140625_112515

10 thoughts on “Santiago! Si, si puede!

  1. Congratulations!! I’m sorry that your blog will soon end, as I’ve looked forward to reading its insightful comments and sharing your epic journey and knowing you two better through your activities and response to same. Bless you two! Ellen

    • Thanks so much, Ellen. You & Teo ‘ s mother- in – law Karen are the two people I always knew were reading the blog. I often thought I was writing to you. You were my muses!

  2. Eres un buen viaje! (I think that’s the right word). And I think it was good that you got to explore the towns more in the last non-walking part of the trip–you had a very well rounded camino. So glad you made it!

  3. Chapeau, Chapeau, Chapeau!

    Dear Donna and Brian, we are full of gratitude for your great mental and physical strength, we are delighted that you have made it! Now we wish you a safe way back to the United States. A ultrabig hug from the Händler Family

  4. Congratulations Mom & Dad!! Way to pull though. I’m so proud of you!
    I’m glad you got to see the huge censer!

    Here’s a video I found of it in action…yikes it is huge (100 lb) and really gets going!

Leave a Reply

